From a cover to the centre of it all: Bowie


David Bowie

More than many words that are never enough, there’s only music that can tell how much and why this Man was so loved by many of us.

It is in the change of the rhythm and in the starting of a pizzicato, when the voice melt so well with the music, that my heart had a misgiving and the sense of loss was so high.

(nb: it’s all fault of Anna Calvi’s and Amanda Palmer’s Black star cover)

http://amandapalmer.bandcamp.com/album/strung-out-in-heaven-a-bowie-string-quartet-tribute

In the villa of Ormen
in the villa of Ormen
Stands a solitary candle
In the centre of it all
in the centre of it all
Your eyes

On the day of execution
on the day of execution
Only women kneel and smile
ah-ah
ah-ah
At the centre of it all
at the centre of it all
Your eyes
your eyes

[…] Something happened on the day he died
Spirit rose a meter and stepped aside
Somebody else took his place and bravely cried
I’m a blackstar
I’m a blackstar

How many times does an angel fall?
How many people lie instead of talking tall?
He trod on sacred ground, he cried loud-into-the-crowd
I’m a blackstar
I’m a blackstar
I’m not a gangster

I can’t answer why
(I’m a blackstar)
Just go with me
(I’m not a filmstar)
I’m-a take you home
(I’m a blackstar)
Take your passport and shoes
(I’m not a popstar)
And your sedatives, boo
(I’m a blackstar)
You’re a flash in the pan
(I’m not a marvel star)
I’m the great I am
(I’m a blackstar)

I’m a blackstar, way up, oh-honey-I’ve-got-game
I see right so white, so open-heart it’s plain
I want eagles in my daydreams, diamonds in my eyes
I’m a blackstar
I’m a blackstar […]

Of course Bowie was not a member of my family, nor a close friend and I can see why so many people don’t understand why a more greater number of persons despaired for his loss, not even knowing him.

The fact Is that Bowie, as any artist that you happen to love, succeeded to touch you in such a deep way that it is just as if he is your family or friend,  and became a part of you, and he still is now.  He was and is the soundtrack of so many pleasureful memories that he is part of your (our) life.

He is part of you like only good memories could be.

To me, he is my sweet cousin Ada and I,  while watching MTV channel and being absolutely smashed by Blue jean  and by a guy in love with a China girl. Where did he come from with those hypnotic eyes? Does he really wear make up,  and why am I dancing?

Later, those days, I was so young 🙂 , he was my second crush, yes,  I fell in love with a bad guy, in a Labyrinth. Can you imagine that I met him on a stair and it was love?!

David Bowie in Labyrinth

David Bowie in Labyrinth

He was with me in my thirties, when I was ready to fall in love with a bunch of Heroes – (https://youtu.be/Tgcc5V9Hu3g

This song melt my heart and that of one of my closest friend, Elena (did your heart break too? ). Of the millions times I listened to it, it makes me think of a night when we were dancing with other friends,  a bunch of heroes, by the sea. A perfect summer night. I really wished that, that night, that I remember as if it is Tonight, could never end.

Bowie is also a postcard designed by the same friend of mine, whom is the greatest Bowie’s fan, I guess. She was even jealous of other people listening to his music, because none except her, could feel more about him :). I remember all the times she sang to me and to everyone ( 😉 ) Ragazzo solo, Ragazza sola (https://youtu.be/yeigs-ypMj0 – Italian version of  Space Oddity) and, of course, she named her son after David – I have to tell you that since she met me and other friend also, we all had no doubt that she ended up so, even if she never thought she would have a child! So this is dedicated to her –Changes 

Going back from a concert, another friend of mine, Checco (thank you), told me I should absolutely listen to Ziggy’s Stardust, I was still an absolute beginner in the world of Bowie, but, gosh, he hit me indeed and  he does still now. When I am under pressure, when I need beauty to sweeten my hardest days, I put it on and I feel better enough for the next five years.

[…]I never thought I’d need so many people…

[…] You knew you were in this song
And it was cold and it rained so I felt like an actor
And I thought of Ma and I wanted to get back there
Your face, your race, the way that you talk
I kiss you, you’re beautiful, I want you to walk

 

All right, I could go on like this forever (Starman, Low, the man who fell on the heart…Fame, Young Americans, Thin machines!…), but, as I said at the beginning, there are no words, there is only music left.

It is in the change of the rhythm and in the starting of a pizzicato, when the voice melt so well with the music, that my heart had a misgiving and the sense of loss was so high and, at the centre of it all,

Your eyes, David.

 

Digitally Engaged e Sbadata per Caso: una combinazione letale ;) Digitally Engaged and Unintentionally Absentminded: a lethal combination ;-) I am into Graphic Design, Photography and Social Media

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in art, cinema, life, movies, music, Stories, Video

Leave a Reply

Sbadata per caso

Digitally enganged e sbadata per caso: una combinazione letale! ;-)
Unintentional absent-minded and Digitally engaged: a lethal combination ;-)

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Instagram

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Follow me on Twitter
Contact me
bodigoi@hotmail.com

